Food · Uncategorized

A Weekend Setup for Eating Healthier During the Week

So this blog is rapidly becoming about food…

Which makes pretty good sense if you know me! 😉

Since I’m trying to eat (relatively) healthier food, I thought I’d outline my “weekend routine” with regard to food prep for the week. Again, I’m not claiming to be an expert of any kind – and I am definitely not perfect in following this routine – but I just want to share some tips that have made it easier for me to eat well during the busy week. Would love to hear any tips you have as well!

  1. Prep smoothies for the week – see my previous post about this. This one is huge, as each smoothie is packed with fruits and veggies, keeps me full, and gives me lots of energy without a big sugar crash. Great way to start the day. (Plus drinking one of these puppies makes me feel less guilty about a mid-afternoon chocolate break 😉 )
  2. Related to smoothie prep – buy a bunch of ripe bananas, unpeel them, split each banana into a few pieces, store in a freezable container, and place in the freezer. This will provide you with frozen bananas to use in smoothies. Blending banana chunks while frozen adds an almost ice-cream-like texture and sweetness to smoothies.
  3. Spiralize a ton of veggies at the beginning of the week (usually the same day as the smoothie prep – I like to just knock out everything in an hour or two on Sunday). I posted about the joys of spiralizing here – I am usually late to most trends in life, and this is no different, so you probably heard about this years ago!  But I’m beginning to integrate it into my daily routine and I love it.  It makes veggie prep sooo much easier. I typically spiralize a bunch of sweet potatoes and zucchini at the beginning of the week.  I’ll roast the sweet potato noodles (swoodles) several times during the week, as well as eat zucchini noodle (zoodle) dishes. It. rocks.
  4. For a sweet treat that still packs in nutrition – I will make a batch or two of chia seed pudding (see here).  A surprisingly tasty way to satisfy a sweet tooth, and if it still doesn’t do the trick, you know that you still got in a ton of nutrients and fiber, and it is likely to at least fill you up for a while.
  5. Hydration – remembering to drink tons of water at the beginning of the week can set you up for similar habits during the week, as well as boost your energy and quell your appetite for needless snacking.
  6. Freeze some coffee in an ice cube tray, if you like having a nice luxurious Frappuccino-like beverage during the week. Best of all, you can make it yourself (which means healthier and less expensive)!  See here for recipe base.

Just a few tips off the top of my head – would love to hear if you have any other healthy eating hacks!

Leave a Reply

