Food · Uncategorized

Ode to Smoothies

DISCLAIMER: I try to eat as healthy as possible, but I don’t want to “preach” about eating healthy on this blog (especially since there are weeks when I haven’t made time to go grocery shopping, and instead subsist on chips and ice cream). However, I want to share some strategies that I have found to be helpful to eating healthy in my own life.

My goal is to maximize the amount of healthy food I put into my body, so that I feel as energetic as possible. Plus, I find that my mood tends to be better when I’m eating nutritious whole foods (except for those times when you just gotta have some chocolate, or else you’re gonna punch someone in the face).

So, a big one for me: SMOOTHIES. Lots of people do smoothies these days – fruit smoothies, green smoothies, smoothies with oats and nut butters and chia seeds and protein powder…basically, if it can be blended, people have found a way to put it in a smoothie.

Here’s what works for me, and something I practice pretty much weekly:

  1. To make things more convenient, I keep an array of frozen fruits in the freezer (usually strawberries, pineapple, and blueberries).  You can buy them in the freezer section at the grocery story (or better yet – save some money and buy them in bulk at Costco or some other wholesale club – since produce gets expensive!).
  2. Make a huge batch at once, and divide it among plastic travel mugs/cups (I use 24-ounce mason jars) so you can grab-and-go on busy mornings. It’s kind of a pain since I have a tiny blender, but if you have a larger one (or better yet – if you have one of those badass Vitamix blenders), you can make several smoothies at once. They’ll stay fresh in your refrigerator for about seven days, and it saves me SO much time in the mornings.  I’ll drink it on my way to work in the morning, and I can feel good that my breakfast is jam-packed with fruits and veggies.
  3. So that leads to the next question – what do I put in my smoothies?  It depends, but I don’t get super adventurous with this.  I’ve found a few flavor combos that I like, and I tend to stick to them (for me, just getting something healthy into my body is more important than making it “perfect” or “optimal”.)  If I’m making a huge batch at once to drink during the week, I’ll typically do frozen pineapple (or fresh, if it’s on sale at the grocery store), frozen strawberries, a generous handful of spinach leaves, and water. That’s it. And since my blender isn’t that powerful, I’ll let the mixture sit for a bit, to allow the frozen fruit to soften for easier blending.

Soooo that was a lot about smoothies!  Hope that was somewhat helpful – it’s definitely not rocket science, but I love hearing how other people integrate healthier eating into their lives in ways that are as convenient and economical as possible!  If you have more smoothie tips, please share!

Leave a Reply

