Food

Chia Seed Pudding is NOT a Joke!

It is not a joke at all – in fact, it is the bomb.  (Do people still say that?)

After discovering a bag of chia seeds in my fridge that had expired in 2014, I decided I should probably use them. (Don’t worry, the bag was still sealed.  Definitely not a questionable decision.)

So off I go to my trusty old friend Pinterest, and I find a zillion recipes for chia seed pudding.  I had seen those before and thought they sounded pretty gross, to be honest.  But when you have a bag of 3-year-old chia seeds, you start to get desperate.

So I gave this recipe a shot – a chocolate chia seed pudding recipe by Minimalist Baker (an amazing blog, BTW, for people interested in trying healthy, creative recipes with as few ingredients as possible).

EASY 6 ingredient Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding! #vegan #glutenfree #chiapudding                                Photo Credit: Minimalist Baker blog

This pudding is no joke.  I made the version with dates – because, when I tried it, I was experimenting with a 3-day no-added-sugars fast…so I figured dates were more “allowable” than syrup, etc.  So, I added the dates to the rest of the ingredients, put it in the fridge overnight, and then pureed it all in the food processor the next day.

The finished product tasted awesome!  To me, chia seeds don’t have much of a flavor, so they don’t make it taste weird (in contrast to flax seeds…I also recently tried a chocolate flax pudding recipe that was not good, mostly because I think flax seeds can taste kind of funky.)  The texture is a little different because of the seeds, but if you’re OK with that, it’s a much healthier alternative to a pudding dessert!  And chia seeds have a boatload of omega-3 fatty acids to boot.  It’s super easy and delicious, so it’s one of my go-to recipes!

Leave a Reply

